Level 1
Taijiquan syllabus - level 1 - foundation skills

classes     taijiquan     self defence     qigong     tai chi for health     about us     reviews     a-z

Level 1 contains:

1. Qigong

Ba duan jin (8 exercises)
Form posture qigong
Full circle qigong
Moving qigong (8 exercises)
Reeling silk exercises (5 exercises)
Standing post
Standing qigong/3 circle qigong
4 directions with a partner
Qigong development
Standing post with arms
Horse stance qigong
4 directions with a partner (no contact)
Qigong on one leg
High circle qigong
Stretches & joint work

2. Fitness

Constructive rest

Leg stretches (2 sets)
Psoas exercises
Cardio work (2 sets)
Tao yin/Taoist Yoga (3 sets)
Core strength (3 sets)

3. Form

Long Yang form (regular & mirrored)

4. Pushing hands

Single pushing hands
Monkey paws

5. Principles

Central equilibrium maintain the centre
Eyes-closed walking
Palm at 3 distances
Peripheral vision - mugger scenario
Posture testing
Yielding exercise
Yielding basic skills
70/30 stance

6. Brain work

Q & A
Attitude & etiquette
Martial concepts theory
Cat stepping quiz
The Sword Polisher's Record
There Are No Secrets
The Essence of Tai Chi Chuan - The Literary Tradition
The Way of Chuang Tzu
The Book of Five Rings

7. Neigong

Crescent moon
Square on the inside, round on the outside

8. Jing


9. Self defence

Women's self defence

10. Martial skill

Martial concepts

Silk arms
San sau
Penetrating defences

11. Chin na

Escape from a hold

12. Shuai jiao

Pushing legs
Floor work

13. Weapons

Knife drills
Stick drills (3 sets)

school database

Page created 18 April 1995
Last updated 05 February 2020